Login 0

Red Squirrel Phonics Level 5


Red Squirrel Phonics is a new series of decodable readers from Raintree, packed with real stories using words that children can read. The programme teaches children phonics skills in a sequential and systematic way so that they can learn the sounds (phonemes) and the letters that represent them (graphemes) and then practise and apply this knowledge through reading appealing, decodable texts that make sense. This ensures that every beginner reader will experience success in their reading from their very first book! Part of the Red Squirrel Phonics Level 5 series.

Quick Info

Pages: 0 Interest Age: 4 - 7, Reading Age: 4 - 5, Hi-Lo: No, AR Level: 0, Trim Length: 188, Publication Date: Apr 2021

ISBN: 9781398217140

As advisers for Kent primary schools, we feel happy and confident to promote Red Squirrel decodable books to our English Leaders. We particularly like the clarity of each page, the simplicity of the font and the presentation of clear pictures, which are easy to process and understand. Even the earliest books are based on a meaningful story, making them interesting to read and talk about. There’s plenty of guidance inside the cover for the adult too. It’s very easy to see at a glance which phonemes and graphemes are included, so that the book can be matched to what the child already knows. This scheme could be used alongside the Letters and Sounds phonics programme, as it complements (rather than copies) each phase from phase 2.
We unreservedly recommend this product, to add to your reading repertoire! Penelope Bill, Specialist Improvement Adviser (English), PRIMARY SCHOOL IMPROVEMENT, THE EDUCATION PEOPLE

Reviews (0)